Salaries · Advanced practice providers

What do APPs earn?

Three separate answers for your role and state — what employers advertise, what the federal wage survey measures, and what clinicians report themselves. We never average them together. How we work this out.

Role

A public page. Nothing here is personalized, and choosing a role or state saves nothing about you.

A nurse anesthetist in Massachusetts

Three sources · never combined · every figure carries its date

Posted pay

Advertised

Not enough postings yet

Only 2 qualifying postings, under the 5 needed to publish a group.

A group publishes at 5 qualifying postings with an annual range, so one employer cannot move the number.

Health Center Careers job board · employer-published ranges

Federal wage data

BLS OEWS

$295,550

Occupation
SOC 29-1151
Data period
May 2025 OEWS

Not health-center specific: this covers every employer type in the state.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May 2025 release (2025A01), state cross-industry estimates via BLS flat files (download.bls.gov/pub/time.series/oe/). · retrieved 2026-07-18

Clinician-reported

Reviewed

Not enough contributors yet

No reviewed group has reached 3 contributors for this role yet.

A group publishes at 3 distinct contributors, as a range rather than a single figure. Your pay is never shown on its own. It is published only as a range, combined with at least 2 other clinicians. Recruiters never see individual contributions, and you can remove yours at any time.

Reviewed clinician contributions · national, banded

Total package

Base pay is only half the FQHC offer. Loan repayment is tax-free and paid to your servicer, so it is worth more than the same amount of salary.

Base pay source

Service commitment

No base pay to build on

That base source has no published figure for this role and state.

Pick another base source, or model the loan half on its own.

On top of base pay

What clinicians told us they get besides base pay. Each line is its own question, answered by its own set of people, so the lines are never added to base pay or to each other.

  • Yearly bonus

    Not enough answers yet

    Taxable income.

  • Loan repayment

    Not enough answers yet

    Terms depend on the program. NHSC awards are tax-free with a service commitment; state and employer programs vary.

  • Housing or relocation

    Not enough answers yet

    Usually taxable.

A range shows once 3 clinicians who get it have answered, and how common it is shows at 10 answers. Your pay is never shown on its own. It is published only as a range, combined with at least 2 other clinicians. Recruiters never see individual contributions, and you can remove yours at any time.

Add your pay

Why three figures, and not one average

Averaging them would hide what makes each one useful. A single blended number would look more precise and mean less, so this page never produces one.

Posted pay

What employers are advertising right now.

A range in a listing is an opening offer, not a paycheck, and not every employer posts one.

Updated as jobs are collected

Federal wage data

What the occupation actually pays across a whole state.

Covers every employer type, not health centers, and runs about a year behind.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May 2025 release (2025A01), state cross-industry estimates via BLS flat files (download.bls.gov/pub/time.series/oe/).

Clinician-reported

What people in the role say they are actually paid.

The smallest sample, national rather than per-state, and published only in bands.

Published per group, with its date

Compare

All four roles in Massachusetts, side by side.

RolePostedFederalReported
Nurse practitioner$146,49523 postings$142,440U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May 2025 release (2025A01), state cross-industry estimates via BLS flat files (download.bls.gov/pub/time.series/oe/).$110$11550-99 contributors
Physician assistant$154,79414 postings$142,410U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May 2025 release (2025A01), state cross-industry estimates via BLS flat files (download.bls.gov/pub/time.series/oe/).$105$11020-49 contributors
Nurse anesthetistNot enough postings$295,550U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS), May 2025 release (2025A01), state cross-industry estimates via BLS flat files (download.bls.gov/pub/time.series/oe/).Under 3 contributors
Nurse midwifeNot enough postingsNo federal seriesUnder 3 contributors

These columns are three different sources, not one scale. Each carries its own sample and date, and they are never averaged.

Pay by state

Every state has its own page, with the same three sources and the same thresholds.

Posted figures are ranges employers published on this board; Health Center Careers does not set compensation, and advertised pay is not actual earnings. No figure on this page blends the three sources. Loan figures are FY2026 program amounts, not an award decision. Reported and RSU groups are self-reported values, banded, and are not a valuation or tax guidance.

Looking for job alerts? They moved to your account — manage them from Job alerts.

Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) pay in Massachusetts

The federal wage survey (May 2025 OEWS) puts the median for nurse anesthetists in Massachusetts at $295,550 a year. Fewer than 5 job postings for nurse anesthetists in Massachusetts list a full yearly pay range, so posted pay is not reported yet.

Posted pay is advertised offers, not what clinicians earn. Hourly pay is not turned into a yearly figure. How we work this out.

Common questions

How much do nurse anesthetists make in Massachusetts?
The federal wage survey (May 2025 OEWS) puts the median for nurse anesthetists in Massachusetts at $295,550 a year. Fewer than 5 job postings for nurse anesthetists in Massachusetts list a full yearly pay range, so posted pay is not reported yet.
Where does this pay data come from?
Three separate sources, never averaged into one number: pay advertised in job postings, reported once 5 postings list a full yearly range; the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics wage survey; and pay shared by clinicians after a person reviews it, published for a state once 5 people in the same role have shared.
Can nurse anesthetists get loan repayment in Massachusetts?
CRNAs are not eligible for the NHSC Loan Repayment Program. Nurse Corps LRP is the federal program that covers APRNs, including CRNAs, serving at Critical Shortage Facilities.